This group is for nurses who want to lose weight, share stories and/or focus on fitness.

My journey to weight loss, better health and serenity

• Author
    Onlyanurse
    Onlyanurse
    Keymaster
    @Onlyanurse

My journey to weight loss, better health and serenity. Hello all and welcome to this group. My name is Michelle. I am a retired nurse and the admin of this group. It is great to have so many members already.

I wanted to tell you all that I am 49 and have been on over 20 cruises/ Actually I have lost count of all the cruises I have been on. Now please bear in mind that I am not telling you that to brag. I am telling you because I have had a difficult time over the last ten years or so, not gaining weight on these cruises because there are so many lovely things to eat on there.

After a while, the pounds really do add up. So I have started a program to lose weight. I am 5ft 11inches so I am fortunate that my weight gain doesn’t make me really look “fat”, but more chunky.

Last year I began the Keto diet. For those of you who are not familiar with this diet, it’s not really a diet, it’s a way of life. Around August of last year, I weighed 189lbs. I knew I had to do something or I would quickly be over the 200lb mark and that, for me would have been devastating.

Here is how Keto works in simple terms. Basically, your body needs fuel to run, just like a car needs gas. In fact, a completely sedentary person still needs about 800 calories a day to merely function and control all the body’s organs properly.

The body will always use carbs first and when it runs out of carbs it will begin to burn protein. So, if you don’t give your body many carbs it will begin to burn protein. When it starts to do this, it is said that you are in ketosis and essentially burning fat very rapidly.