This group is for nurses to discuss general nursing topics.

I HATE IT!! -Help

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Nurse Naomi
    Nurse Naomi
    Participant
    @Nurse Naomi

I graduated from nursing school last May and have been working on a very busy med-surg floor. The problem I am having is that I despise it. I don’t know what to do. I hate everything about it and I don’t know if I just hate nursing or I hate this particular job.

I end up riddled with anxiety and depression when I leave work and I don’t sleep well worrying about this. What do I do?

Nurse Jewel
    Nurse Jewel
    Participant
    @Nurse Jewel

Wow,

You sound really miserable hon. I wouldn’t stay in a job that I hated that much. Since this is your first job it’s hard to say whether it’s just that you hate the job you are working or you hate nursing altogether. Nursing isn’t for everyone.

But I have a feeling that you just need to switch to a different specialty and you may find that you love it. Did you feel like you hated it when you did your clinical rotations? If there is something else that you’d rather do then do it. Life is too short to be miserable

Nurse Mandy
    Nurse Mandy
    Participant
    @Nurse Mandy

Awe,

Nursing can be difficult, especially when you’re a newbie. I would try to pinpoint exactly what you hate about it. Sit down and get a piece of paper. On one side write positives and on the other write negatives of the job. Maybe this will help you figure out what you may be better suited to. The great part of nursing is that you can hop on over to another specialty if you hate the one you’re in…Good luck!

Onlyanurse
    Onlyanurse
    Keymaster
    @Onlyanurse